top of page
Up Next
Search By Tag
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know

The Review - The Arcs + 5 Tracks to listen to right now


The Black Keys Dan Auerbach is out with a full-length album of new songs with a new backing band… yes please! Since their brilliant 2008 album ‘Attack & Release’ very little by The Black Keys has disappointed me, including production credit on albums from The Sheepdogs (The Sheepdogs) and Lana Del Ray (Ultraviolence). So when news came out that The Arcs, led by Auerbach, was primed for a late summer album release, I knew it was something that I’d give serious listening.


Ahead of Friday’s release of ‘Yours, Dreamily’ we already had four singles from The Arcs, giving us a good indication of what the album would sound like. Repeated listening has left me enjoying this effort and it’s more laid back feel. Sometimes I felt I was hearing The Black Keys recycled lyrics but that’s probably to be expected. The laid back grooves compliment Auerbach nicely here and give him some space to explore his vocal range instead of the Keys' more straight ahead rockier feel. The single that is already making it’s way onto radio airwaves is ‘Outta My Mind’ and is the song with the most punch on the album. The lyrics within the song got me wondering just how autobiographical they are “But everything I did just went and turned to gold I love the pictures on the wall. Reminding me of what I lost to get it all.” Which is exactly the blueprint the Keys have experienced since 2010. Becoming one of the leading bands on the arena concert and festival circuit every single summer, while releasing massive selling albums with major replay . . . they do indeed have the golden touch.


What I’ve always loved about The Black Keys, as a band or individuals, is they do come across as a couple of guys who love making music and being apart of it. You get the impression that the cash is nice but they would be doing it either way. I really like this debut album from The Arcs. Is it as good as the past three Black Keys album . . . no, but it’s also probably not trying to be. It’s standing alone. Releasing it just as September rolls into town, giving us that transition from summer to fall, this serves as very good sunset/end of summer soundtrack. There’s some great sounds and experimenting here that equals giving it a fair front-to-back listen. From the groovy intro ‘Once We Begin,’ to the reverb on the start of ‘Put a Flower in Your Pocket,’ to the smooth in the pocket vibe of ‘Cold Companion’ it’s got a good flowing pace over the 45 minutes.

And now here are 5 songs to check out now!

The Arcs ‘Outta My Mind’. A stand out track from the above reviewed album but doesn’t mean you shouldn’t give the whole album a go.

Dr.Dre ‘All In A Day’s Work’. The Jimmy Lovine inspirational speech front loads this powerful Dre track.

EL VY ‘I’m the Man to Be’. More music from The National frontman and further proving this is an album to keep getting excited about.

Florence + The Machine (Hot Chip Remix) ‘Queen of Peace’. Solid dance beat accompanies this song from Flo’s A+ new record, giving it a new spin. Click Here or the album cover below

Run The Jewels (feat. BOOTS) ‘Early’. Heard this when the album first came out but recently added to my running playlist. Came on mid run this weekend and reminded me how much I love this track.

bottom of page