top of page
Up Next
Search By Tag
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know

The Review - The Sheepdogs - Future Nostalgia

I’m riding a Canadian music high after coming off an all-Canadian concert last night with City & Colour opening for Neil Young! Keeping a mental list of top artists I want to see, if they’re on that list of ‘must-see’, I’m going to really (really) try not to miss them. Neil held the top spot on that must-see list . . . the top spot is now held by Springsteen.


After last weeks so-so review of (Canadian) Matthew Good, I’m going to continue that Canadian high with the new album from The Sheepdogs this week.

A riff that screams feet up on patio, watching September turn to October with a cold beverage is how the latest Sheepdogs album, ‘Future Nostalgia’, opens. After that it settles into a nice groove with lead singer, Ewan Currie’s instantly recognizable voice. There is something comforting about a Sheepdogs record. Maybe it’s the harmonies or the throw back to 70’s rock and roll. Either way the formula they have used on previous records is firmly intact here again.


The album clocks in at just over an hour with The Sheepdogs taking their time to give songs room to find that unmistakable toe tap groove.


The first single, Downtown, has been with us for awhile and took a bit to grow on me but now is easily one of the top songs on the album and fits perfectly in the early part of the record. The hour plus of music never seems dull or boring but instead plods along in its harmonic fuzzy way.


‘Jim Gordon’ is my favourite track on this record. There’s a stripped down honesty in this song that somewhat reminds me of The Tragically Hips ‘Bobcaygeon’.


I love how the Dogs bring Future Nostalgia to a close. It’s a simple thing but seems to be a throwback to a time when you sat back listening to music while staring at the CD or record sleeve liner notes. You wouldn’t necessarily notice the six songs that weave together are in fact six separate songs and not one song like it sounds.


You can’t go wrong with this album. Is it a timeless Canadian classic we’ll be talking about in twenty years? Maybe not, but right now it melds the 70’s with 2015 and that sounds good, really good.


Track Listing

1. I'm Gonna Be Myself 2. I Really Wanna Be Your Man 3. Downtown 4. Jim Gordon 5. Bad Lieutenant 6. Jim Sullivan 7. Back Down 8. Help Us All 9. Take a Trip 10. Same Old Feeling 11. Nothing All of the Time 12. Darryl & Dwight 13. Where I Can Roam 14. The Bridge City Turnaround 15. Plastic Man 16. Giving It Up (For My Baby) 17. I Get By 18. Where I Can Roam (Reprise)

Downtown - The Sheepdogs

bottom of page